Manitoba Lacrosse Hall of Fame Update

2021 VETERAN INDUCTIONS TO THE HALL OF FAME by Manitoba Lacrosse Hall of Fame

After cancelling the 2020 Induction Ceremony due to the Covid pandemic, the Board has decided to push forward with a bold plan to hold two inductions in 2021. In the Spring of 2021 the Board will host a special induction for teams, players and builders who were involved with lacrosse in the 1920’s, 1930’s, and 1940’s. A special veterans committee has selected 1 team, 1 builder, 1 player/builder, and 8 players for induction to the Manitoba Lacrosse Hall of Fame:  


Tammany Tigers– 1926 & 1928 Mann Cup Finalists (Canadian Senior lacrosse championship)  


Eric Abbott– Key organizer and promoter of lacrosse in the 1930’s & 1940’2


Ron Henley– A player and official in the 1940’s & 1950’s  


Lionel Merrick– Top goal scorer of the 1940’s, ’50’s & ’60’s
Ken Williams– Outstanding goalie from the 1940’s to the 1960’s
Mark Flynn– Outstanding goal scorer and play maker from the ’40’s & ’50’s
Charlie Sabo– An elite goal scorer and fierce competitor
George “Jeep” Woolley– Sturdy defender with the knack of scoring key goals
Lorne Christianson– West end goal scorer: considered to have one of the best shots in Canada
Glen Christianson– Top flight scorer; as ability to score goals in the big games
Al Smallwood– A sniper who played in 3 Minto Cup play downs   Once the government regulations allow for more than 200 people to meet are in place the exact dates and location will be announced.    

The Class of 2020 Honoured Inductees Announced by the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame New Westminster, BC – The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame is proud to announce its 2020 class of inductees, which includes players Jamie Batley, Cam Bomberry, Michelle Bowyer, Ted Dowling, veteran Peter Berge, builders Paul Day and Joey Harris, along with the St. Catharines Junior ‘A’ Athletics (1990-1991).

These new inductees bring the total number honoured in lacrosse’s national shrine to 543 – 160 Builders, 328 Players and 55 Veterans (those who played in 1980 or before). There are also 23 teams inducted under the Team category.
The formal induction banquet and ceremonies are scheduled for November.  

Honoured in the Builder Category:
Joey Harris

No one has worked harder and longer to build the game of lacrosse in Canada than Manitoba’s Joey Harris. The 2017 recipient of the Lester B. Pearson Award for unselfish dedication and outstanding contribution to lacrosse, Harris has been the President of the Canadian Lacrosse Association and a member of the board of the Canadian Lacrosse Foundation since 2003. President of the Manitoba Lacrosse Association from 1990 to 2002, in 2002 Harris joined the board of the CLA as VP Finance and Administration. Among his many accomplishments he developed the national field lacrosse team strategy that has led Canada to 3 gold medals in the last 6 world championships. As a player Harris was a member of 5 Manitoba Senior box lacrosse championship teams between 1993 and 2000, was three times selected to represent the province in President’s Cup play, and from 1983 to 2001 represented Manitoba in field lacrosse championships, being named a tournament defensive all-star in ’85 and ’89.

About the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame
The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame, chartered in 1964, Honours Players, Builders and Teams through an Annual Induction Process. Induction of new members is made to preserve the memory of stars of yesteryear, but the Hall is more than a repository of names and photos of our greatest players, builders and teams; it is also the keeper of our national summer sport’s history.  The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame honours the tradition of lacrosse from its very roots, with displays honouring the First Nations through exhibits showing the game’s transition into modern life.

For more information, please contact:
David Lancaster
Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame
Phone: 604-717-5522

COVID-19 Update May 2, 2020

As the situation around COVID-19 develops, the Manitoba Lacrosse Association continues to evaluate all options for programming in 2020. As of now, all MLA-sanctioned activity remains postponed until further notice. The government of Manitoba has announced the start of its reopening plan; however, this does not include the resumption of youth contact sports. Though it is clear that the season will not go on as we know it, the MLA board has not ruled out any mid-to-late-summer programming at this time, should it be deemed safe to do so.

A decision on National Championships will be coming from the Canadian Lacrosse Association by the end of May.

The MLA office will continue to be closed while staff are working remotely. Please contact MLA Executive Director Matt Mason at for any inquiries.

The MLA will continue to be in communication with its membership as the reopening process in Manitoba develops. In the meantime, continue doing your part in keeping the curve flat in hopes that we can safely resume the sport we all love in 2020.

COVID-19 Update April 1, 2020

In response to the recent developments regarding the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the MLA has released an address updating the current state of lacrosse in Manitoba.

If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to MLA Executive Director Matt Mason at

All MLA-Sanctioned Activities Postponed Until Further Notice Due To Concern Over COVID-19

Following the decision of other Provincial and National Sport Organizations, the Manitoba Lacrosse Association has made the difficult decision to postpone all MLA-sanctioned activities until further notice due to concerns over COVID-19. The health and safety of our lacrosse family is our top priority and it is with your protection in mind that the Manitoba Lacrosse Association Board of Directors has decided on taking these measures. All games, practices, programs, camps, and clinics are to be postponed until further notice, effective March 14, 2020.

The MLA recognizes the amount of work that has been put forth by our volunteers and athletes in preparation for the start of the 2020 Box and Field Lacrosse seasons, but at this time, we feel this is the necessary precaution to take in order to do our part in keeping our community safe. Though we cannot provide a timeline on when activities will resume, we assure you that any developments will be communicated with our membership.

Manitoba Blizzard Jr. B Box Lacrosse Tryout Dates

The Manitoba Blizzard Jr. B Box Lacrosse Club has announced its open tryout dates.

All sessions will be at Gateway Recreation Centre at 1717 Gateway Rd.

  • March 28 9:30-11:30 AM
  • March 28 12:30-2:30 PM
  • April 3 7:00-9:00 PM
  • April 4 9:30-11:00 AM
  • April 4 12:30-2:00 PM

Cost per athlete is $100 due at the first session.

For further details, please contact Terry Williams: