Box Lacrosse HOF

Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame to Induct the 1954 and 1955 Manitoba All-Stars


WINNIPEG, Manitoba – The 1954 and 1955 Manitoba All-Stars will be inducted in the Team category for the sport of lacrosse on Saturday, April 22, 2017 at the Club Regent Event Center. Manitoba sent all-star teams to the Minto Cup championships (Junior A Box Lacrosse national title) in 1954 and again in 1955.

The Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame & Museum highlights the 1954 and 1955 teams in their March Media Release. The media release states, “Perennial powerhouses Ontario and BC have met in the Minto Cup final every year since 1937 save three occasions: 1951 when Manitoba defeated BC in the west final best of 3 and again three years later in 1954 and 1955. Manitoba’s talent pool is minuscule in comparison to both Ontario and BC but the Long Branch Monarchs (ON) lost the deciding game of the best of 3 by a 7-6 score. MB faced the Vancouver PNE Indians in the final and lost in BC. In 1955 Manitoba got its revenge on the BC squad by defeating them in the best of 3 and went on to face Long Branch (ON) in the final. The Monarchs swept the Manitoba squad to win the Minto Cup for Ontario. No Manitoba lacrosse team has been that close since.”

The Manitoba Lacrosse Association would like to recognize the following players, coaches, and trainers for their contributions to the 1954 and 1955 all-star teams.


NAME:                                   YEAR(S):                   NAME:                                   YEAR(S):

Gary ALDCORN                   1954/55                       John CAMPBELL                  1954

Jack CARNEGIE                   1954                            Gordon CHEM                       1954/55

Bob CURRIE                         1954                            Bryan DERRETT                   1955

Ted DERRETT                       1954/55                       Ross FARGEY                       1954/55

Bill FRIESEN                        1954/55                       Ted HARRIS                          1955

Gordon HORNER                  1954                            Joe HUNT                               1954/55

Gerry KLINE                         1955                            Ralph LYNDON                    1954/55

Barry McQUEEN                   1954/55                     Len MORROW                      1954/55

Garry MURRAY                    1955                            Don NIGHTINGALE            1954

Harry NIGHTINGALE          1955                           Dick PAULLEY                     1954/55

Jack SHEWCHUK                 1955                            Mike TYMCHYSHYN          1954

Daryl YOUNG                       1954/55

COACH                                                                       MANAGER

John ARONDEUS                 1954/55                       Jim O’DOWDA                     1954/55


Ken LAWSON                       1954/55

Tickets may be purchased by the public at a cost of $40 each. Tickets are available for purchase online through Sport Manitoba’s website. Please go to: to purchase tickets.

Please feel free to call our Sport Heritage Manager, Rick Brownlee at 204-925-5736 (office) or e-mail him at if you have any questions.

1 comment on “Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame to Induct the 1954 and 1955 Manitoba All-Stars

  1. Many thanks for a great article, it was very interesting and informative.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: